Oregon Tax License Requirements
California and Oregon are currently the only
states in the Nation that require tax preparers to be licensed and meet
professional tax education requirements. Maryland is due to follow this
procedure next year along with many other states. In addition, Federal tax
regulations are being proposed that will require the IRS to license tax
Oregon Tax Education
Oregon Tax Consultant license enables an individual to lawfully prepare Oregon
personal income tax returns in the State of Oregon for a fee as a self-employed
or independent Oregon tax practitioner.
requirements to become an Oregon Licensed Tax Preparer or tax consultant:
be at least 18 year of age.
have a high school diploma or have passed an equivalency examination.
complete a minimum of 80 clock hours of basic income tax law education. We
are currently only approved to offer Oregon continuing tax education.
pass the Oregon tax preparer examination administered by the Oregon
Department of Professional Tax Preparers with a 75% pass rate or higher.
have a certificate of completion of the 80-hour Oregon Basic Course and be
submitted with your Oregon license application before your Oregon tax
license will be issued.
are already an Enrolled Agent to become an Oregon Tax Consultant:
a copy of your Treasure card.
the Oregon tax consultant examination on Oregon tax law, Oregon Income Tax
Service Law and the Oregon Tax Board Code of Professional Conduct with a 75%